This medieval style castle was built between 1895-1899 for E. Starr Sanford, a successful portrait photographer of the time. The stone used to build it was quarried on the site and its woodwork was imported from Italy. The property would switch hands in the following years and be known by a few different names before settling on Hearthstone, a name probably due to its eight fireplaces. In 1987, the castle was sold to the City of Danbury and has since fallen into ruin with the entire interior collapsed. Tentative plans to demolish it have been proposed, but for now, it still stands as a captivating site within the Tarrywile Park woods.